< 7 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2005-02-14

Clearly I Watched a Lot of TV This Weekend...

I started to do a play-by-play of the Grammies but then HB got annoyed with my typing. Here's how far I got:

******************* Beginning of Grammy Play by Play ********************

Good Lord. The Grammys. Anyone Else out there watching?

I am. With HB reluctantly by my side ... (he doesn't have many kind words to say about most performers... especially J-Lo, and GOOD GOD ALMIGHTY what the sam hell is she WEARING? Jennifer, honey, get a clue and fire your stylist. Now. Right NOW. Jeeezuz.) In any case, I'm trying to get HB in the spirit -- it's the Grammy's dammit! Pull up a Bud Lite and don your comfiest flannel PJ bottoms and "Bite Me, Hollywood" hat, dooooood!)

Listening to right now: Sweet Home Alabama. If there is any one song out there that everyone in the entire fucking U.S. of A should love, this is it. Political/racial ramifications aside (and I don't mean to make light of them -- but hey, isn't Neil Young Canadian anyway?!), it's just one great fucking Good Old Down Home Hot Ass Rock and Rollin' Song. And this from someone who likes Corey Hart and The Carpenters, so there. There's a little billy in all of us. (But who IS this chick anyway? Should I *know* these people?) (Wait -- she's the one who does the song about being trailer trash... or something. I like her for this.)

********* intense guitar sequence here *************

*********** MA thinking about smoking here **************

Wait... it's over.

FLASH TO AUDIENCE: RICKY MARTIN! KEVING BACON! SH-AW-IIIIIING! (for me, anyway)

** commercial break **

*** annoying I-Pod commercial on. At least it's not the Bono one. God, he BUGS me. Anyone else? ***

*** women tesing the smell of their armpits .... uhm... I don't do this... anyone else?! Jesus... ***

**** Ellen D. is on -- I love her. HB and I part paths on this one, but that's okay. He just has NOT taken the time to find out what a really NICE person she is. And he's not homophobic, either... I think he's just basically annoyed by hollywood in general, gay or not. ***

Is it okay that I love Maroon 5?

"And the grammy goes to..."

MAROON 5!

(YAY!)

Sorry if it makes me a total pop whore, but I love these guys.

clap clap clap clap ** Classy speech by that cute boy lead singer I want to roll around in bed with -- IN A VIDEO, silly! *** clap clap clap

Me to HB: Okay, HE'S on the top of my list now....

HB: Stop writing about me.

Me: Hrmph. (reluctantly shutting down laptop...)

*********************** end of Grammy play-by-play *************************

On a rating scale of 1-10 as Award shows go, I thought this one was not too bad. I actually enjoyed it, and found it hard to find appropriate moments to smoke on the porch. Apparently I missed Jamie Fox and Norah Jones singing Georgia, dammit.

HB: You were out smoking so you missed it.

Me: I was chasing the GODDAMN DOG down the STREET because her ZAP COLLAR doesn't work anymore, so THERE!

In other TV news, did anyone catch Saturday Night Live? G'damn that was a funny one! I take it back, Jason Batemen is on the top of my list. Cute as hell AND funny. I think that was one of the best SNLs I've seen in awhile. And, again, solidifying me as a Pop Whore, Kelly Clarkston can sing. Period, the end. However I was a little disappointed to see her going all Glam/Angry Chick Rock star on us.... just sing, Kelly. No, it's not cool that you threw the microphone stand onto the ground. Not so much, really.

A quick movie review: Fat Girl. French movie title "Ma Soeur" (literally "My sister"). Nice of the American movie execs to make it "Fat Girl", doncha think? In any case, it was one weird little flick. If you're into independent french flicks with a rather disturbing view of life from two teenage chicks, one of whom loses her virginity in front of the other in a rather disturbing and yet I-hate-to-admit-it-was-kinda-hot manner and (semi-spoiler) a VERY violent ending, this flick's for you. I like watching French films now and then to see just how badly they butcher the french-english translation.

And now, it's Monday and I'm back to the salt mines. I actually have Real Work to do, so all of my (two) adoring fans will have to wait until later tonight for my next entry, which will either be about all of the reasons I love my HB (because it is, after all, Valentines day), or about my adventures as a french nanny.

Happy Valentines to all you cutie-pies out there -- wet kisses to all the boys and Rhi too, and a double-butt grab to Judd.

xoxoxoxoxoxox


xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n