< 2 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2005-02-12

Saturday afternoon blah-blah-blah

Random Saturday-afternoon-after-2-beers thoughts:

(1) It's 45 degrees out and very sunny and it makes me want to run around the front yard naked. I'm considering putting on some Mexico resort wear to celebrate.

(2) Whilst smoking on the front porch, I saw a mosquitto. MO-SQUI-TTO. Yes. Okay, it's warm, but not THAT warm. (Note to self: stock up on DEET, or whatever that shit is -- promises to be a gruelling, itchy spring.)

(3) "To Kill A Mockingbird" is the rockingest fucking best movie in the world. If you haven't seen it, see it. I love Gregory Peck. I'm going to name my next (child/cat/dog/plant) "Atticus" in his honor. I love the fact that Courtney Cox named one of her kids "Scout".

(4) "Adaptation", on the other hand, kinda sucks. Why am I watching it? Because it's easy to ignore while typing.

(5) I sent an "all staff" email out yesterday in which I used "whom" instead of "who". Fuckmedammittohell. I hate it when I do that.

(6) Nicholas Cage generally annoys the crap out of me, except in "Matchstick Men". Watch that, too. The soundtrack is weird, but in an awesome, "I must own that CD" awesome. Uhm... don't. It's better in the movie.

(7) I'm such an animal weenie that I actually try to save the box elder bugs which are starting to inundate our family room. HB likes killing them; I pick them up gently and gingerly set them on the porch outside. Where they will surely die a much longer, more painful death. But it makes me feel better.

(8) I'm SUCH an animal weenie that one day on the way to work I saw a squirrel get hit by a car -- badly (as in it didn't die fast and was obviously suffering) and I was scarred for life -- I had to call in "sad" to work. I cried all morning.

(9) See (7) and (8) above, I canNOT watch "Animal Cops", "Emergency Vets", or anything remotely similar. Sometimes HB catches me sneaking a peek (and crying) and has to grab the remote from me and change it to a "Simpsons" rerun.

(10) I'm feeling a bit neglected because I only had like 5 hits yesterday, and I thought for SURE that my "Not THOSE lips, you idiot!" entry would get *some* reaction. Hrumph. I mean, that's not why I write, but... it's nice to be loved.

(11) In spite of (10), I love this place, this DL. I've "met" so many wonderful people, and continue to be in awe of the number of funny, articulate, caring, talented people out there, all of whom should be writing books. There are several I would LOVE to tip back a few beers/diet pepsis with, and (I'm serious about this) if you are passing through Michigan, let me know. You know who you are.

(12) HB is home with the groceries, so I have to go be a kitchen slut and put things away. Then it's time to "cook", something we do well together, even in our cramped, "your ass is in MY way, please move over THERE" kitchen.

More later -- perhaps even something interesting.

hogs and thistles,

Babz

xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n