< 0 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2005-01-08

This just proves the depth of my shallowness...

This just in! "Rhymes with 'Tad'" and "Rymes with 'Pen'" are breaking up! Yes! Oh... mah.... gah !!!! The Hollywood "It" couple is now the Hollywood "So Not It Anymore" couple. (This just proves the depth of my shallowness that I would even stop to make a journal entry about this....) (And do you like the way I cleverly disguise their names ... you know, what if it's wrong and they sic someone like Geoffery Figur on me.) (Yes, butchered HIS name, too.)

Forgive me if any of you actually thought I had an intelligent bone in my body, but I am a bonified People Magagazine, E-channel junkie. OH sure, sometimes I watch The History Channel or the Discovery Channel with HB, especially if it's an episode about how they make gum or something, but most of the time I'm living vicariously through people thinner, richer, more beautiful, and dumber than I am. Because, seriously, folks. Have you seen what some of these people WEAR? (This from someone in a pair of 10 year old "silver tab 505 Levis -- STRAIGHT legs, folks" and MOON BOOTS as we speak...) And, also, I don't want to imply that "Pen" and "Tad" are dumb at all -- frankly, they looked like two people who would be fun to throw back a few beers with, and in terms of style, they were either smart enough not to listen to their "stylists" and/or just had good taste.

ANYway, my husband called me from his cell -- from the DRIVEWAY -- he was on his way to his grandmother's house and I was just getting out of the shower -- to tell me he had just heard this on the radio. I told him he had just earned 20 Chick Points and that I was going to paint his toenails tonight in honor of his superlative Chicktatude (he is a horrific "chick" when it comes to news about any of our friends, etc., so this was HUGE.) He responded that he thought there were other rewards that he might prefer... uhmmmm... yeah. We'll see about THAT.

Ironically, People magazine just did a story about the loving couple taking some exotic vacation at some swanky $10k (yes, that's $10,000) a day resort. Jesus. One Last Hoorah, ya think? I could do a lot of "last hoorah-ing" for $10k a day, how about you?

In any case, I just had to say SOMETHING to SOMEONE, even if it's just my computer screen, about this earth shattering announcement. I predict this will take up more air time than anything going on in Thailand starting right about... oh, now.

And here I am, POTP.

Seriously, even the most cynical of us have to admit that they were a cute little couple, those two. And let's face it -- offspring from that couple would have been gerber baby material from day one. I always feel bad when any couple breaks up and it's not fair (or very nice, actually) to make light of it, but hey... you live in the limelight and people are going to throw limes at you occasionally. I wish them both luck, and "Tad" is now officially on the top of my "list". I'm sure HB will understand when he shows up at our house later tonight. Hell, for that matter, "Pen" is second. (Yes, Pat, I promise to take pictures.)

But. Back to the real world. For those of us who have to actually work for a living, I'm off to MyCompany to complete preparation for the big "audit" next week. We're in pretty good shape, but I should probably remove some of the empty beer bottles and drug paraphanalia from my cube before Monday morning (KIDDING!) (Really! I am! About the drug part, anyway...)

I'll be out of pocket through Wednesday, sweating bullets as the "auditors" go through our corporate undie drawers -- this is an annual thing and a Big Frigging Deal, in fact, it's one of those things that if I Really Screw up it could have serious implications on my future employment at MyCompany. So forgive me if I am short, surly, or just plain absent for a few days.

I'll drop in to let you know how things are going, but keep your fingers crossed for me. And let's all have a nice glass of $250 Chardonnay (or a Bud) in honor of Ken and Tad. Ehr, Pen and Todd. Whatever. YOU know who I mean...

Babz, Gossip Girl, off to the saltmines to make a living...


xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n