< 2 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2004-12-30

It's a big fat party, folks, trust me.

Having married into a Polish Catholic family I have been introduced and now participate in many polish catholic traditions, the most fun of which is something called Wigilia (pronounced "vee-geel-ya", because the polish like to spell things one sounds like an idiot trying to pronounce). I call it "the kissing holiday".

Wigilia is the most esteemed polish holiday because it is "a solemnly celebrated occasion which (sic) arouses deep feelings of kinship among family members". It is a celebration on Christmas Eve followed by a day of fasting (5 lbs of Christmas cookies don't count, do they?), and should be an evening of solemn reflection of Christ's birth.

HA!

It's a big fat party, folks, trust me. Apparently this Christmas Eve Dinner is a big WHOOP for the poles because ... well, I don't really know why because I'm basically a hedon disguised as a pole, but my personal theory is that Polish folks just like to have a good old fashion ho-down in anticipation of Christ's birth. YEE-HAH! Or, in polish "MINSKI-VERN!".

There are all these traditional foods which one MUST eat but recall that we are "fasting" so it is a MEAT-less meal but let me tell you, nobody goes hungry. Because, you see, fish is okay, and salmon is fish, so.. there you have it. Personally 1/2 lb of perfectly grilled salmon by HB the Wonder Husband is not really "fasting", but that's just me.

Other "must haves" include:

* Mushroom barley soup (shhhh -- made from BEEF stock, but please don't tell anyone)

* Prunes (yes, prunes. I don't know why, but just eat one, okay? Make Jesus happy.)

* Pickled Herring (ditto the prune comment. Shut up. They're good for you.)

* Pierogis (these are the polish version of Chinese potstickers, but are filled with cheese and/or potatoes -- they are nummy because slathering them in sour cream is encouraged)

* Kapusta (Sourkraut -- much more edible as "Kapusta". Hint: sour cream. Lots of it.)

* Mrs. Paul's Fish sticks (for the kids)

* Salmon (because fish is okay)

* Potatoes (redskins, with parsley and butter -- yum!)

* Booze of all brands and types
and last but not least (and I'm not kidding about this)...

* A Rice Crispy Birthday Cake for Jesus (we even sing Happy Birthday).

Before the meal we have a solemn moment of "readings" which describe the tradition of Wigilia, and then we do this cool thing called "Oplatek" (pronounced "Oh-pwhat-kee", silly!), which are blessed wafers which each family member is given a piece of, and then everyone moves around the room offering a piece of your Oh-pwhat-kee to a loved one and they offer a piece of theirs to you and then you kiss -- ON THE LIPS -- and wish one another a blessed new year.

Seriously. You kiss EVERYONE. Babies, sleazy uncles, the cute new fiance of your cousin, etc. I love this part! Except for the Uncle part.

Other traditions include putting hay under an empty place setting to represent the manger, and the empty place setting is for any passing stranger, because a "Guest in the home is God in the home". (Pretty sweet, darnit!) After dinner we sing Polish Christmas Carols, which is an absolute HOOT for us flatlanders, because we all just mouth 'watermelon' throughout the song and smile a lot so we look like we know what we're doing.

Actually I'm finally learning a few... "Luuu laa jaazaaneeeeoooohh, luuuu llllaaaah luuu laaaaah..." .... okay, maybe not. For all I know I'm singing "Nights in white satin...." Anyway, they think I'm cool for trying.

I can't make too light of this tradition because these folks take it very seriously. One of HB's aunts is a Nun, and she actually weeps during many of the carols, readings, etc. It is clearly a meaningful part of her belief, and I have to respect that.

Meanwhile I'm off in the kitchen slugging "Hot Peppermint Patties" (another tradition) and trying to hide from Uncle "Lips".

Prior years Wigilia was hosted by one of HB's Aunt, but this year she turned it over to us youngin's, so I guess my Sister-in-Law and I will be taking over the tradition. It's fun -- a TON of work, but of all the things we do around the Christmas holiday, this is my favorite, hands down.

And truthfully it is the one time of year that I actually feel a twinge -- albeit slight -- of spirituality. Although I may not believe in a God, per se, or a higher power, I do believe in the purity and strength of family bonds.

For one teeny tiny moment I put all the whining about shopping and wrapping and traffic and my job and my weight and all that stuff to rest and reflect on how truly lucky -- blessed even -- I am to live the life I do.

"Wesolych Swiat! Bozego Narodzenia!"

and

"Appy-hay Ew-nay Ear-ay, oo-tay!"

Babzalovenciaski

xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n