< 5 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2005-04-25

Taylor Update =(

Thanks to all of you who reached out about T, the wonder dog. I appreciate your thoughts and prayers.

Tonight is T's last night -- we're putting her to sleep tomorrow morning at 9:00am.

I don't know what is more obscene -- doing it or scheduling it in advance. I know it's the right thing to do -- the tumor is inoperable and is slowly pinching her intestines closed. The fancy clinic I took her to today for an ultrasound said that surgery was an option, but would be extremely invasive -- they'd have to go in through the belly, through her back, and break her pelvic bone to get at it.

Uhm... let me think about that for a minuteNO.

I'm okay -- hell, I've been grieving her loss since Saturday at 2am. HB is not fairing as well, as he is more reasonable and tends to wait until he knows he should be sad or worried about something. I'm all about advance planning.

Taylor is his first dog -- the first he raised entirely on his own. And not that I'm biased or anything, but this was one spectacular example of canine wondertude. She is the most laid back dog I've ever known, and I already know it's going to be hard to beat her.

She is, and has been, MY dog, too. She follows me around everywhere (in fact, I have to get back to her in the living room -- the Taylor Hospice Room -- to be with her).

I will be back -- just probably not bubbly and full of beans for awhile.

Here's to Taylor, UberPooch Extraordinaire. She's had a good life, and she's given us 11 great years as well.

She will be missed.

xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n