< 4 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2005-03-24

Serious Higgins Jones

I don't know when I'll post again -- the Tennessee contingent is in for the weekend so I plan to be bobbing for olives in a big vat-o-vodka for most of the weekend. I hope to have stories of hilarity involving loss of bowel control, clothing removal, and puking into the map pocket of a car (not MY car) when I return on Monday.

In the meantime... I am going through serious Higgins withdrawal. Higgins is where our cottage is -- about 3 hours north of Ann Arbor. It's about this time of year when I'm ready to start fighting with US-23 traffic every Friday night and Sunday afternoon. But, ahhhhhh. Once you get there, it's so worth the trip. No phone, no cable, no internet connection -- just reading, puzzles, napping, eating, drinking, walks in the woods, and watching "To Kill a Mockingbird" for the 80 gazillionth time.

Here's the front room:

That's me Mum and Dad in the pic on the mantel, and to the right is a picture of my Mom and her Dad when she was 4.

In addition to all of the other reasons I love this place, it was my Mom's cottage, so I always feel closer to her when we're up there. HB and I got married there -- on the front path -- 5 years ago September -- so it has other special meaning to me.

Also, the napping. Did I mention that? There is nothing like curling up in a bed with a mattress so old and friendly it's like sleeping in a featherbed-lined canoe, with 8 heavy blankets on top of you, the window open, a good book....

Yes, Higgins. You and me and HB... SOON.


xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n