< 1 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2005-03-15

Babci, you will be missed

I will spend the rest of the week dealing with family in and out, airport runs, visitations, and a funeral.

My husband's Grandmother died yesterday, and although we knew it was coming (fast moving cancer diagnosed in October of last year), it's never easy. She was a nifty gal -- 94 -- polish-catholic and full of vim and vigor right up to the end. She died in her home -- the home she insisted on living in and caring for -- on her own -- for the past 50 years. We were all blessed to have had her in our lives.

At this point I am fairing well -- as the "eldest" (I am older than HB and all of his sibs!) I am viewed as the matriarch and as such, have to be strong for others. This will really hit home during one of our many All Family Celebrations (the polish have MANY THINGS to celebrate, God love 'em) -- when I normally would have seen her.

Of course, I am kicking myself in the ass for not visiting more, calling, etc., but ever since she was diagnosed in October she put the kibosh on anyone "behaving differently" and didn't want "extra attention".

Still.

Would it have killed me to just drop in on a Sunday afternoon? I have since found out that the other sibs did just that -- and that she was delighted to have the company. Fortunately, HB saw her a couple of times over the past few months, and while I am a part of this family by marriage, his time with her is what matters.

Death brings about so many emotions it's hard to keep them all in check, and I do know that Babci would not want me or anyone berating themselves for anything having to do with her. Truly a class act up until the end, she would want us to celebrate her life in an appropriate fashion -- over food, wine, laughter and the love of family.

We will do just that -- for the rest of the week -- and beyond.

Babci is a force that will live on in all of us.

Now. I don't have to tell you this, do I? Pick up the phone... drop a note... stop by. It's never too late or too early to tell someone you love them.


xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n