< 6 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2005-01-27

There are some places from which one should simply never bleed.....

Short and sweet for those of you who check... I've been a very sick puppy since last Saturday -- just got back from my Gastroenterologist and apparently people shoot blood out of their a**es a LOT because NO ONE seemed nearly as concerned about this as *I* was. Not to mention the cramps.... oh dear God, the cramps.

The ER doc (Sun. pm) wanted to know what my pain level was on a scale of 1 to 10, and I asked what number they associated with "Please please shoot me NOW". She said that would be "11" and promptly gave me some morphine.

Which didn't help much, I must say.

I'm getting better... slowly... trying to save my strength and get my gut back in order before Monday, when I will be knee deep in Tequila, Sombreros, and deeply tan, thin women (hate hate hate) on the beautiful Mexican riviera. Nice all inclusive, all you can eat, all you can drink, and the food AND drinks are actually decent, and here I am afraid to eat anything more daring than lime jello. (Raspberry jello? Helloooo NO. That's way too radical for me. Please pass the chicken broth.)

And, which, I had to work all week in spite of crippling cramps and bloating (Praise be to Vic0din!) because CYNG is out for his requisite 2-week military reserve stint, and one of my staff decided to just go AWOL on me, so... Here I am.

(Said staff member "is no longer working with us" -- I had to let him go today. Someone with whom I've worked for 12 years and basically adore, but his personal life has crept into work in ways I could no longer tolerate, so... I had to do it. Right before I leave for vacation. Fabulous timing, don't you think?)

Anyway, so much for short and sweet.

If I am scarce until the 8th, think of me on the beach, with an umbrella drink (soda water), after a delicious meal (lime jello).

Be good, my little butter beans, especially YOU, Pat. Check back -- I may post again this weekend, because I'm sure that somewhere in this nasty, painfilled, disgusting story there is humor. Were I Judd I could find it....

7lbs-lighter Babz (I don't recommend the methodology...)


P.S. Diagnosis: "Some kind of nasty intestinal bug, we don't know what, that will be $10 co-pay, have a nice day." But at least the doc set me up with some good drugs should this thing rear it's ugly head again in Mexico. Actually, the traveler's trots would seem like a cakewalk at this point...


xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n