< 2 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2005-01-15

Movie Reviews

Gee. It's Saturday night, 7pm, and everyone else but ME seems to have a life...

Well, actually I choose my particular form of life tonight. Solo, husband in Florida blasting all of our savings on an "investment opportunity" (thank GOD I look fabulous in Lilly Pullitzer � okay, I don�t, but nobody does, really...), here I sit, with a handful of movies and� what�s this? No more wine? Dammit. Down to Corona or Vodka. blech.

I feel I should provide Babz's own Movie Reviews. Just because.

Okay, of the movies I've rented (5), I've watched approximately 2.5 since last night at 5pm.

We Don't Live Here Anymore. Dramatic �stylish� movie about two couples, young, beautiful and thin (you know, �typical� � like the rest of us), who start boinking one another's betrothed. It was, among other things, depressing and confusing, but how can you beat Mark Ruffalo and Peter Krause� hot hot HOT. Not to mention Naomi Watts, who, for an Australian, has the American accent down like nobody�s business. Also, Laura Dern. I could watch these four read from Janes Defense Weekly and be entertained. So, movie wise: nada-so-gooda. Acting wise: how can you miss? Unfortunately, the DVD had a scratch in it so I had to FFD/Reverse so many times I became irritated and decided I hated it. This goes to show you that medium does affect effect. (Does that mean anything? No, of course not, but I wanted to see if I could use �affect� and �effect� in the same sentence. And, I proved, I can�t.) Review: Depressing, not enough hot sex, and something critical must have happened between chapters 4 and 5, but I�ll never know. (I see a free Blockbusters* rental in my future.)

Wicker Park: Started this movie last night but was too busy to watch it. The problem with me and rental movies is that I�m ADD and I have to DO something all the time -- like laundry, or dusting furniture, or de-molting the dog and then vacuuming again. So even though I watched this last night I didn�t really WATCH it so as of this morning I really didn�t remember one iota of it. I finally watched it again, and� review: excellent chick movie with a VERY slow start but with clever, complex but totally unbelievable plot twists which means you have to Pay Attention (not my forte), which that is why I had to watch it like� three times. In any case, I recommend it. To chicks, certainly; as well as to some of my guy pals who are Sensitive But Don�t Want Anyone To Know It (you know who you are).

Shadow of Fear, aka �Bored To Death�, and/or �What the Fuck?� This is the one I STARTED to watch last night but at that point I was so busy laundering and cleaning and drinking wine that I could NOT follow it. Furthermore, it has James Spad3r in it, and I find him deeply annoying. Sorry� I just do. (My cousin is �in the business� and confirms that he is pretty much exactly like his character in Whatever That Legal Show He�s In Now on Sunday Nights � i.e., an asshole. She should know; she had to do an episode with him � oh, and by the way, W1ll1am Shatner is, too). Back to the review: It sucked: I tried to watch it. Three times. Is it just me? Or did this movie just suck?!

Garden State. Fucking fabulous. Just watched it � start to finish. No laundry, no cleaning, no dog grooming, no DL entries. Could it be the quality of the movie? Nah�. So, sorry Brad� Zach Braff is now on the top of my list. Followed immediately by Natalie Portman. She has a perfect nose; he is so totally human and lovable. Judd Zach Braff should play you. SE-riously. And he should be honored to do so. (Taking into account he�s not as CUTE as you are, but� the cerebral, funny, sensitive-but-sexy is all there.)

Next up:

Anchorman. Yes, a woman of good taste, I�m saving the best for last. I mean, this one I should be able to get through without a lot of cerebral energy, ya think? If not, SNL is on in an hour and a half� If sleepyland doesn�t take over before then�. which it just might!

Babz, on da couch, in da jammies


xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n