< 1 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2005-03-11

We're in reconfig mode... Again....

I drafted an entry about The Wedding in Wyoming, but I'm not sure I'm ready to post it. It's one thing to beat the shit out of yourself in here, but quite another to be all sarcastic and critical about your family... This pseudo-anonymity is tricky. As well as the desire not to offend, lest I get a "U SUK" comment (thank you, Andy).

We are once again moving people around here at WorkPlace. I've said it before and I'll say it again -- modular furniture SUCKS. U SUK, MODULAR FURNITURE! The problem is it gives people way too many options, and gives them something to do when they don't have enough to do. "Let's reconfigure our unit to enhance our creativity and increase collaboration", translation: "Let's reconfigure our area so we have a place to put the Friday donuts."

I'm down with that. Friday donut locale is very important to creativity and collaboration. It IS. (What? defensive? me? Just because I reconfigured MY area for JUST THAT REASON? Shut UP.)

Since we moved into this building four years ago, I have configured and reconfigured every single business unit at WorkPlace.

That's fine by me. People's indecisiveness and desire to explore new frontiers throughout OfficeSpace and/or optimal Friday donut placement means job security for me.

Besides, I get to work with the furniture installers, who are like brothers to me at this point. They are a scruffy but lovable group -- and like most men, the way to their hearts is through their stomachs -- I order pizzas for them when we have a big, pain-in-the-ass job (always). Also, and tight shirts and cleavage don't hurt either. Not to mention liberal droppage of the f-bomb while taking smoke breaks with them. As a result, these guys will do anything for me, including but not limited to moving FULL 4-High lateral file cabinets.

In fact, ITGal, who is responsible for the computer move for this particular reconfig, just overheard the main guy telling the other guys "This Babs is an awesome chick -- she treats us well so we kick ass for her." It don't get better than that. Fuckin-a.

The other thing I do is to write letters. When a vendor does a great job for me -- and sometimes even when they just do a mediocre job -- I write glowing letters detailing their wonderfulness to their manager. This is win-win because they get recognition, kudos, and sometimes even a bonus, and I get 4-High full lateral file cabinets moved without a fuss. What could be bad? The truly good get rewarded and the mediocre remember that I wrote a letter for them and morph into truly GREAT vendors the next time around. Try it, you'll like it.

I'm off to order pizzas... for the boyz.

Happy Friday, although it's really Thursday for me, beze I have to work tomorrow, too. Boo.

xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n