< 5 have made an entry to the Captain's Log

2005-05-10

She's b-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-ck!

I have been Sleazy McLazy lately.

Yes, you DLanders, I'm back. Try not to hurt yourselves doing the Happy Happy Joy Joy dance.

(Ooooh! Tomorrow I'll be all "Lookit all the hits! 15? 16? Nooo.... 17?! WOW! (wait... that's me.)"

Anyway, here I am.

The truth is, I've been a bit BUSY. Okay?

In addition to losing the World's Greatest Dog 2 weeks ago today, I found out two days after we put Taylor down that my sister has breast cancer.

She had a lumpectomy last week, and we just learned today that there were NO more cancerous cells in the tissue surrounding the tumor removal site, nor in any of the remaining lymph nodes(they did remove one).

This is good news, folks. Stage 1 breast cancer, while not a head cold, is better than anything > stage 1. She will still have to go through chemo (because she is a spry 52) and radiation (because they didn't take the entire breast), and while I feel bad about my sister's impending pain and hair loss, I am now able to actually acknowledge the fact that she has breast cancer without drinking a quart of Vodka and playing chicken with an oak tree.

Anyone who has read my past entries knows that I lost my Mom young -- I was 13 -- and my sister has worn various nurturing hats over the last 32 years.

Losing her. Is simply. Not. An option.

Thanks to all of you with whom I email and who read me -- for your cyber hugs and prayers.

I feel like I've been an Emotional Typhoid Mary-Alice lately.

***************************************************

Also. I've been on jury duty for the past two days, and it was very interesting. I'll write more about it later, when I'm not quite so ... emotionally fried. Taylor, my sister, the trial... yeah. I guess I'm a weenie.

BUT. Not nearly as much of a weenie as my husband, Sneezy McWhiner. Jesus. He has a cold. A. Cold. Okay? A fucking cold.

Not a fever.

He's not shooting bile from both ends.

He's not facing getting nasty mullet wigs from his sister as a joke about the fact that chemo has taken all of his hair.

He has a sniffly nose, a bit of a scratch in his throat, and he slept for like 47 hours today.

I love HB -- pretty much 99.9% of the time.

But. When he gets a cold? Jesus.

I'm going to buy his ass a mullet wig just to remind him how lucky he is.

P.S. Watching Entertainment Tonight: Jada Pinkitt Smyth is talking about drinking 2 bottles of wine a night -- as if it was a problem .

She must've been talking about those BIG bottles.

Right?

I thought so.

I so totally miss you guys. Like. Totally. I am SERIOUS.

xoxoxoxooxox Babz/Chika/M.A.

Also. I posted in my other journal as well. Now go read it. NOW. No, not later. Read this, beoooootch.

xquzme at sometime today

previous | next

l
o
c
k

y
o
u
r

c
a
r

i
t
'
s

z
u
c
c
i
n
i

s
e
a
s
o
n